The French Paradox

Maybe you have heard about the French Paradox?

The French Paradox or le paradoxe Français

Many studies noticed that just 83 out of 100,000 French people die from heart disease compared with 230 in the US despite that a significantly higher amount of fat in their diet. Why is it like that? Well the main reason is thought to be the red wine. French people consume far more red wine than American people. Many people thought that it was related to the anti-oxidants found in red wine. A series of laboratory experiments suggests the proof of this statement seemed to single out a flavonoid called resveratrol (trans-3,5,4′-trihydroxystilbene) as the most likely substance for the health benefits.

Benefits of Red Wine:

Plato may have been wiser than he knew when he said, "Nothing more excellent or valuable than wine was ever granted by the Gods to man." Those of us who have come to enjoy the variety and tastes that wine have to offer can now look to red wines for greater health benefits. Recent studies show that drinking one glass of red wine each day may have certain health benefits. Research indicates that moderate red wine consumption may help protect against certain cancers and heart disease, and can have a positive effect on cholesterol levels and blood pressure.

Why drink alcohol with moderation?

The French Paradox, le paradoxe Français

The principal key to reaping the health benefits of red wine seems to be moderate consumption. Drinking one glass a day for women and up to two glasses a day for men may (Drink red wine every day should not exceed 50-100ml/day) decrease the risk of heart disease, cancer and stroke. Excessive or binge drinking, however, doesn't produce the same benefits. In other words, when it comes to red wine: for sure, more is not better!

Why red wine is better for health than white wine?

The principal reason is because between white wine and red wine, the red variety has more resveratrol than white because red wine is fermented with the skin of the grape (skin contains reresveratrol). As you may know, the resveratrol is like an antibiotic for grape. Aslo the resveratrol, in particular, has been demonstrated to be good for the health.

Of course, it is depending on individual preferences but the majority of people still prefers drink red wine!

Tags :

Le French Paradox

Peut-être avez vous déjà entendu parler du French Paradox?

Le French Paradox ou le paradoxe Français

Plusieurs études démontrent que 83 français sur 100,000 meurent d’accident cardiaque contre 230 aux Etats-Unis malgré une quantité supérieure significative en graisse dans notre régime alimentaire. Pourquoi ça ? La principale raison en est la consommation de vin rouge. Les français consomment plus de vin rouge que les américains. Beaucoup de personnes pensaient que ce phénomène était du aux antioxydants présents dans le vin rouge. Mais une séries de tests en laboratoires laisse à penser que ce serait plutôt grâce à une flavonoïde appelée resvératrol (3,5,4'-trihydroxystilbène) à qui il conviendrait d’attribuer ces bienfaits.

Les bienfaits du vin rouge:

Platon devait être devin puisqu’il le savait déjà et disait : "Rien n’est plus précieux que le vin accordé par Dieu aux hommes". Ceux d’entre nous qui s’y connaissent dans les différentes variétés peuvent choisir les meilleurs vins rouges pour profiter des bienfaits sur leur santé. De récentes études démontrent que boire un verre de vin rouge chaque jour pourrait avoir des effets bénéfiques sur la santé. Les recherches indiquent qu’une consommation modérée de vin rouge pourrait protéger contre le cancer, les risques cardiovasculaires et réduire le taux de cholestérol ainsi que la tension.

Pourquoi faut-il boire avec modération?

Le French Paradox, le paradoxe Français

Le principe de base pour profiter des bienfaits sur la santé semble être la consommation modérée. Boire un verre par jour pour une femme et deux pour les hommes (ne pas boire plus de 50 à 100 ml / jour) pourrait réduire significativement le risque de maladies cardio-vasculaires, cancers et accident vasculaire cérébral. En revanche l’excès de boisson ne produit que des effets inverses. En d’autres termes, quand il s’agit de vin rouge, il est certains que trop n’est pas mieux !

Pourquoi le vin rouge est meilleur pour la santé que le vin blanc?

La principale raison est que la peau du raisin n’est pas conservée dans la le processus de fabrication du vin blanc, or c’est cette même peau qui contient le resvératrol. Ce dernier est un antibiotique naturel de la vigne, qui lui permet de résister aux attaques des moisissures. Par conséquent la concentration de resvératrol est toujours plus élevée dans le vin rouge que dans le vin blanc.

Tout est une question de gout, mais il est vrai que la grande majorité de nos clients préfère boire du vin rouge!

Tags :